Tutorial 1 – Group Critiques

So we have went through the works for half of our class, I’m pretty amazed by the beautiful artworks done by each of our classmates ,especially the depth in  their works,the ‘thoughts’ behind and the whole working processes.
It is also interesting to see the ‘diversity’ as well, as we are all from different cultural background, I’m inspired by how our diversity on cultures and experiences did influence us on the thinking process and how to we interperation things.
Historical or cultural references can add on a great depth on the artworks we created as Jonathan mentioned, when discussing about the artworks of Charlotte – how history of a place given certain depth to the abandoned places on her photography, is definitely worthwhile for us or for my future artwork to investigate on. Janet is really fine and well thought artist, in presenting her works through poem I can see and feel even from far distance her emotions from her works. Robin works is inspirational, his installation, on experimentation of sound, video, is far from what I can imagine.
Also,another interesting topic is how we interperate ‘digital’ in our working process and daily lifes. After seeing timo’s work, I can see how traditional media transform into digitial paintings with the same vibes which brings his topics up to a further steps. It’s possible,always possible to investigate or illustrate an idea with different media,it’s not about the media sometimes,but the working process or thinking process that are far more important other than our final works. As when I see steph’s work, the media she used in 35mm film and the workiing process with cutting woods really speaks about the questions she tried to investigate on.
So what’s the next step?
‘How do my living place affect me on my thinking process for my design?
What unique features my place brought to me as a hong konger?’
That is an interesting,and inspiring kind of chapter,that I can have some thoughts on over the weekend…

Leave a comment