Daydream Reality

Base on the initial proposal I, I tried to ask different people from a number of countries to answer the questions below and take me a video.

37329492_10155851690953512_4683259784399421440_n.jpgINTERIVEW

Hi,I’m collecting some short clips for a visual arts installation in July and would like to invite you to participate:)

Would you mind to take a simple video of yourself (iPhone or other devices at your convenience ) and to respond to the questions below?

(Don’t really need to be professional just feel free to do what you like!:))

我正在為一項七月份的美術展覽收集一些短片,邀請您的參與!

可以用手機(或其他方式)自拍一項短片回應以下問題嗎?

(隨心便可!完成展覽後會把製成片分享你,感謝喔:))🙏🏻

1.

Your name 名字:

Nationality 國藉:

City 地方:

Can you briefly describe the place you live? 可以簡單形容你所生活的地方的環境嗎?

2.

Do you like to daydream? What do you normally think when you are doing nothing?

你愛發白日夢嗎? 當你靜止下來最常想到的是什麼?

 

After all, I’ve my third tutorial session with Jonathan. Talking about my idea for the interim show. I decided to do a interactive piece with a daydream chair for visitors to sit and feel the emotions with the space in 30 second of doing nothing.

In tutorials we speak about the difficulties of interactive artpiece, but I decided to do this as a trial and experimentation. To see how people respond. It is quite interesting to see how people react to the projectins and installation. I noticed that it would be nice to set a camera to collect data next time.

So talking to the process, Jonathan suggest me to focus on the universal objects I mentioned. What and how to makes these common universal objects special to the space?

I did some researches on surrealist objects and start collecting the ‘objects’ from the garbbage bin downstairs a carpark when I’m staying at my friend’s place in london(it is also interesting to see how Londoners like to stock up interesting unused materials, I’m pretty sure they dont use it by the way..) For sure I did some set up at home first despite the fact that my friend judging me as a messy flatmate. Rome doesn’t build in one day, preperation is very important so I spent a week after the tutorial to play with all the objects above.

 

IMG_9641.JPG

 

So in setting up the installation and the video it depends a lot on the site itself. This time we work with our fellows to locate our space and I got this nice vintage room alone in the corner share with dwa. I decided not to block the daylight though mostly my fellows suggested me to.

Daydream is supposed to be happened during the day, the interesting effect of the video mixed with the daylight creates a really dreamy effect in which I also feel surprised with. During the process Jonathan is very helpful, he introduced me to the rapsberry pi, a small media player which transfer the video back to the projector.

 

IMG_9443IMG_0404

Leave a comment